Never tell everything you know

There are two rules for success. 1) Never tell everything you know. – Roger H. Lincoln

I found that quote, and because I had to read it twice before I got it …. thought I’d comment my agreement with it. Especially in a corporate structure, and make no mistake about what public education is…, the day is full of people not telling everything they know.

Students can’t tell everything they know because that would be ‘ratting’ out (usually) other students. Those who haven’t learned that generally cause or experience significant teen drama. But what if they really shared their classroom experiences? Ok, never mind.

Teachers can’t tell everything they know. I could so quickly get in trouble with my boss, his boss, his boss, his/her boss, his boss and his bosses….and/or the union. How’s that for layers of bureaucracy? Sometimes maintaining confidentiality with both students and staff requires not telling everything.

No one wants to be untruthful ….. so we all just choose our words carefully.

I’ve even used the phrase, “Listen to what I don’t quite say.”

Sometimes deniability is the name of the game.

#Virtually Speaking

Leave a Reply

