Reasonableness and Respect vs Rules and Regulations

One of the challenges in managing a marching band is dealing with all the times that students are NOT in a structured classroom, rehearsal or performance. And especially because they are together soooo much, there are those developing relationships to address. The best solutions involve successfully balancing legitimate concerns from administration, parents and students. What follows is a loose transcription of an unscripted “conversation/presentation” with my high school band.

First of all, I want you to understand that if I am going to take time out of a valuable rehearsal to talk with you about something, I hope you know that I must think it is important. And I want you to know that if you hear me through, and we end up on the same page, that what I want to suggest to you is a good thing FOR YOU. I am not responding to a specific incident, but want to discuss a concept….that includes PDA (Public Displays of Affection) but is really even bigger than that.  Read more…

Leave a Reply

