Wind Farms, Car Bumper and Killing Animals

By John Gardner

Wife Joan and I just returned from a drive to Colorado. Along the way were several wind farms. One rest stop had an actual blade and a lot of information about the energy produced.

When you see these from the highway, it is difficult to grasp the size. i suspect not all are the size of the blade in the picture here and the one with me standing in front of it (below), but I found them majestic and fascinating.

First the pics, then the controversy and my bugsy contribution.

This is one blade, donated by the manufacturer for display at an Iowa rest area. I am standing in front -- and the top is not in the picture.
This is one blade, donated by the manufacturer for display at an Iowa rest area. I am standing in front — and the top is not in the picture.
wind turbine size
To appreciate the size of the turbines, compare with the trees and farm buildings.

Video of one wind blade close up. (It is a facebook post, so if you can’t see it, “Follow” or “Friend” me.

These wind farms are not without controversy. There are sites dedicated to counting the number of animals (mostly birds, bats and eagles) killed by the turbines. You can read about “Eagle Slaughter“.

Because there is a proposed wind farm locally, there is an organized group against it: Against Wind Farms.

Here’s a page by the manufacturer of the above pictured turbines. Renewable energy by the manufacturer of the Iowa Wind Turbines.

I am particularly bothered by the arguments against wind turbines because of the birds. I consider myself an animal lover. I don’t hunt or fish. But think about it – people have been against constructing dams because the lakes created kill trees, cover farm land and probably kill some animals. Those against building nuclear plants talk about wildlife or wetlands.  Driving across Indiana, Illinois, Iowa, Nebraska and Colorado, I saw dead deer and other animals on and alongside the road. And look at my bumper:

Bugs on car bumperDo we ban highways and fast moving traffic to protect deer, possum, skunks and whatever those are on the front of my bumper?

Ok, no more rant. No politicking (please) — just enjoy the pictures.

Thanks for reading.

John

 

Leave a Reply

